Cinque Rimpianti

Today I heard a tale from a palliative care nurse that intrigued and surprised me.

I spend a lot of my working life with people staring down the sometimes terrifying sometimes peaceful barrel of death. It’s most certainly not the easiest topic of choice, and one that makes people uncomfortable. It’s the one thing that links us all, but I understand people not wanting to sit around and discuss it. I most certainly don’t.

Bronnie Ware is a palliative care nurse from Sydney who found a common link of regrets in her patients. Her famous blog post is all over the internet, and she now writes books and speaks inspirational talk. (I’m probably one of the very last to find her). When I first heard her tale, I thought that the regrets would be along the lines of ‘hug the ones you love’ ‘tell the ones you love’ but instead it was true reminder of the person who you must be the most true and love filled to, yourself.

  • I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  • I wish I didn’t work so hard.
  • I wish I had the courage to express my feelings.
  • I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  • I wish that I had let myself be happier.

It’s made me feel that little deep pit of death uncomfortable writing this. But I think these regrets should be acknowledged and respected and a reminder of what a lucky lucky treat every new day is.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

